A Summer Cycle Tour

I’ve been super busy recently, I got home on Friday and since then have spent all my time preparing for the cycling holiday over the summer. I’m away 25th May onwards and so this is my last update for awhile. Look to the right of the homepage at the Instagram photos to get an idea of where I am at a given time.

I’ve broken down the holiday into two phases:

Phase 1: Ireland

Phase 1 – roughly 1000 miles to cycle, but the actual route will hug the coastline

This Google route map is only a rough guide, the actual route will be a lot less direct and hug the Irish coast. We’re cycling from home to Exeter, then catching a train to Carmarthen. We will meander in Wales for a day, then catch a ferry from Fishguard to Rosslare, Ireland. From there we head directly to Killarney national park and link up with the Wild Atlantic Way, a cycle route that follows Ireland’s west coast. Around the 18th June we start worrying about my brother’s wedding and cut straight along to Belfast to catch the ferry, arriving just in time for the wedding in Liverpool!

Phase 2: Europe 

Phase 2 is fluid at the moment, we’re definitely catching a ferry from Hull to The Hague, but from there it depends on what the weather was like in Ireland. If it was mostly dry we will cycle towards Norway, if wet maybe head south a bit. 

We are mostly wild camping so regular updates are impossible, but I will attempt to keep you updated, either here or on my Instagram profile.

 

Leave a Reply

