Nipping into the New Forest

The weather has been gorgeous in Bournemouth the last few days, the sun is shining and usually cold wind is very nearly warm. I decided to go out for a ride yesterday, for the first time in a while. Things have been busy with writing my dissertation and the odd bit of job hunting.

It would have been a longer ride but I spent the first couple hours of the afternoon doing maintenance, my bike had ten layers of oil and grit covering the chain and gears. That’s just the price you pay cycling along Bournemouth seafront.

One thing I love about cycling in Dorset is that the county is packed with cyclists, especially the New Forest. Whenever I stop for a break or photograph I inevitably get other cyclists yell out ‘you OK?’ as they whiz past, there’s a definite sense of camaraderie between Dorset road cyclists. It feels somewhat reassuring that if I do meet an accident one day, people are likely to stop and help out.

There were plenty of Celendines in the hedgerows, though the Daffodils are pretty much over.

And just as I was leaving the New Forest I stopped for a quick drink on this blotched bench.

The best bit of the ride was the speed! 25km/h is fastest I’ve ever gone on a ride this length.

Leave a Reply

