First New Forest Gran Fondo

My first Gran Fondo through the New Forest started out as a usual Saturday ride that was supposed to be with a friend from university, however he was too lazy to get out of bed and so the ride morphed into 115km round trip.

Key points:

  • I stopped about halfway round and lifted my bike onto a curb, as I lifted the tyre fell off. It turned out that the only thing keeping it on was my weight, if I had gone over a bump the story would be very different. It is always worth checking what those creaks and clicks are!
  • The last 5km were a pain, I got near home before realising that I had a little further to go so ended up looping around a bit. I would rather do too much then do distance hunting again.

The Route:

Route

One thought on “First New Forest Gran Fondo

  1. Pingback: A Cycling Recap – 2016 | The Exploration Journal

Leave a Reply

